What I have been doing and what Im working on now

29Jun08

I usually find it hard to keep focus and get things done. To put more pressure on me I’ll be summarizing what I’ve been working on, and what I’m currently working on. I will try to make these posts quite often, at least weekly. And you guys can also help by telling me that Im too slow in the comments 😛

So what have I been doing lately? Not very much, but I would say I know the parts of mb_server that Im using quite well now. I have almost done the webservice for adding and removing releases in one’s collection. Got user authentication left, and some details.

I have started working on a class which grabs collection data from the database. Thats working quite well. It can grab artists in the collection, releases in the collection and missing releases. Id’s of artists to view missing releases of and id of the collection have to be entered into the tables manually right now.

So what I will be doing now is to integrate this into the website – preferences and displaying collection info. I’ll do upcoming releases later probably.

Have to look into Mason, but I’ve been told its easy to use so that shouldn’t be a problem.

I have not produced very much, but I feel that Im past the period of chaos when everything was new to me and I did not know how things worked. So Im satisfied with the results so far. I believe Im on schedule.

3 Responses to “What I have been doing and what Im working on now”

  1. 1 Mayhem

    Yes, I think you’re on track. Its a lot of work to get up to speed on mb_server — now that you’re up to speed I am confident that you’re going to start producing faster now.

  2. 2 warp

    Another tip for keeping track of progress. Set small goals for yourself which you feel you can accomplish in a week — just in time for the next post :).

    For example, you mentioned the webservice is done except for user authentication, can we expect to run client software against it by next week?

  3. 3 niklasbe

    Thats a good idea. I’ll come up with some goals. And yes, have user authentication done in a week should be one of the goals 🙂


Leave a Reply

